Kansas City Current Owners and National Champion KU Jayhawks Headline Honorees for This Year’s Kansas City Sports Awards

Brittany Mahomes

Each year, the Kansas City Sports Commission recognizes outstanding individuals for their commitment to, and achievement in, sports. This year’s honorees encompass coaches, players, and ownership. More importantly, journalists and broadcasters are being recognized for the role they play in sports.

I’m amazed at the amount of talent, leadership, and success of our local sporting community. Sports continue to move Kansas City forward when it comes to economic impact, opportunity and inclusion”, says Kathy Nelson, President and CEO of the Kansas City Sports Commission. 

You can read more about this year’s honorees in the June issue of Kansas City magazine.

Angie Long
Chris Long
Brittany Mahomes

EXECUTIVES OF THE YEAR: Angie & Chris Long, Brittany Mahomes of the Kansas City Current

Brenda VanLengen

COMMUNITY CHAMPION: Emmy Award-Winning Broadcaster, Brenda VanLengen

Joe Calfapietra

COACH OF THE YEAR: Joe Calfapietra of the Kansas City Monarchs

NEW ORLEANS, LA – April 4, 2022 – the Kansas Jayhawks men’s basketball team during the National Championship game between the North Carolina Tar Heels and the Kansas Jayhawks at the Caesars Superdome in New Orleans, Louisiana. Photo by Missy Minear/Kansas Athletics

SPORTSMEN OF THE YEAR: Kansas Jayhawks Men’s Basketball Team

Ayoka Lee

SPORTSWOMAN OF THE YEAR: Ayoka Lee of the Kansas State Wildcats

Vahe Gregorian

PROFESSIONAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: Vahe Gregorian of the Kansas City Star

For extended bios, visit SportKC.org.

Social Media

Get The Latest Updates

Subscribe to our newsletters

Kansas City magazine keeps readers updated on the latest news in twice-weekly newsletter. 

On Tuesdays, Dish brings you food news and our critic picks. 

On Thursdays, The Loop offers exclusive news reports and our curated events picks.